Absolute Beginners

Course

Starting 6th September

Our free 38-week Absolute Beginners course is for students who have no knowledge of the English Language. This course is designed to teach basic survival English as well as themes such as food shopping, home and out and about. If you understand a little English but are not confident using it, it would be better for you to attend our Elementary English Course.

Where: Hope Hall, St Mary's Church, 201 High Road, Loughton, Essex, IG10 1BB

When: Tuesdays 10.00am - 11.00am

Limited Places Available

Book Now

Course Dates

Term 1

Week 1 - Tuesday 6th September

Week 2 - Tuesday 13th September

Week 3 - Tuesday 20th September

Week 4 - Tuesday 27th September

Week 5 - Tuesday 4th October

Week 6 - Tuesday 11th October

Week 7 - Tuesday 18th October

Half Term Break


Week 8 - Tuesday 1st November

Week 9 - Tuesday 8th November

Week 10 - Tuesday 15th November

Week 11 - Tuesday 22nd November

Week 12 - Tuesday 29th November

Week 13 - Tuesday 6th December

Week 14 - Tuesday 13th December

Term 2

Week 15 - Tuesday 10th January

Week 12 - Tuesday 17th January

Week 17 - Tuesday 24th January

Week18 - Tuesday 31st January

Week 19 - Tuesday 7th February

Half Term Break


Week 20 - Tuesday 21st February

Week 21 - Tuesday 28th February

Week 22 - Tuesday 7th March

Week 23 - Tuesday 14th March

Week 24 - Tuesday 21st March

Week 25 - Tuesday 28th March

Term 3

Week 26 - Tuesday 18th April

Week 27 - Tuesday 25th April

Week 28 - Tuesday 2nd May

Week 29 - Tuesday 9th May

Week 30 - Tuesday 16th May

Week 31 - Tuesday 23rd May

Half Term Break


Week 32 - Tuesday 6th June

Week 33 - Tuesday 13th June

Week 34 - Tuesday 20th June

Week 35 - Tuesday 27th June

Week 36 - Tuesday 4th July

Week 37 - Tuesday 11th July

Week 38 - Tuesday 18th July

Syllabus

Term 1

Week 1 - What's your name?

You will cover language including hello, what’s your name?, numbers 1 to 5, and goodbye.

Week 2 - What’s your telephone number?

You will cover language including the numbers 0–9 and What’s your telephone number?

Week 3 - Where do you come from?

You will cover language including How are you?, numbers 10-20, plurals and Where do you come from?

Week 4 - What's his name?

You will cover language including countries, What’s his / her name? and Where does he / she come from?

Weeks 5 & 6 - How much is it?

You will cover how much is it?, Numbers 20-30 and pound

Weeks 7 & 8 - Can I have ...

You will cover language including, How much is it?, Can I have…, days of the week, pounds, food and drink.

Weeks 9 & 10 - What day is it?

Check you understanding of grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation and social English we have covered so far. You will also have a chance to reflect on your learning using "I can".

Weeks 11 & 12 - My Family

You will cover language including months, family vocabulary, they / their and numbers 31-99.

Week 13 - A Red Car

You will cover language including dates, colours, like / don’t like and transport.

Week 14 - Christmas

You will cover language relating to the celebration of Christmas.

Term 2

Week 15 - A Blue Van

Consolidate language for dates, colours, like / don’t like and transport.

Weeks 16 & 17 - Train Travel

Learn language including station, ticket, single and return.

Weeks 18 & 19 - The Supermarket

Learn language including food and drink, need, how much is it/are they? and key supermarket vocabulary.

Weeks 20 & 21 - Clothes Shopping

Learn language including clothes (trousers; shirt; t-shirt; coat; jumper; skirt; pyjamas; socks; shoes), bank card and counting syllables

Week 22 & 23 - Home

Learn language including home (bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, living room, bed, shower, kettle, sofa, watch, drink) and time.

Week 24 - Out and About

Learn vocabulary including places to visit (park; museum; cinema; beach; church; mosque; market).

Week 25 - Easter

Learn vocabulary related the celebration of Easter.

Term 3

Week 26 - Places to Visit

Consolidate vocabulary used to talk about places to visit (park; museum; cinema; beach; church; mosque; market).

Weeks 27 & 28 - Review 1

Review the language you have learnt in previous lessons.

Weeks 29 & 30 - At the Health Centre

Learn language including to be ill; I’ve got a fever / sore head / throat / stomach / back / leg / foot; aspirin; syrup; cream; doctor; nurse; receptionist; health centre; you will also be introduced to sentence stress.

Weeks 31 & 32 - At the Dentist

Learn language including adverbs of frequency; dentist; tooth/teeth; (emergency) appointment and she’s paying.

Weeks 33 & 34 - World of Work

Learn language including: teacher; student; librarian; waiter; shop assistant; dental assistant; bus/taxi driver; hospital; library; dental practice; café and school.

Weeks 35 & 36 - World Online

Learn language including smartphone; apps; computer; mouse; to book a time; to check emails; unemployed; job; and interview.

Week 37 & 38 - Review 2

Review and consolidate the language you have learnt in previous lessons.